English exams – ESOL

The Trinity English exams are internationally recognized as an accreditation that guarantees the use of the English language at different levels. The focus of our qualifications is based on developing communicative and interactive language skills, as well as promoting the skills necessary for the 21st century.

Our exams are suitable for people of all ages studying English as a foreign language. They are available for all levels, from primary to advanced students, and are offered to individual candidates, academies, colleges and universities in more than 60 countries.

Graded Examinations in Spoken English (GESE)

The Graded Examinations in Spoken English (GESE) are individual exams, face to face with the examiner, that assess speaking and listening skills.

GESE exams are available at 12 levels, from Grade 1 to Grade 12 (CEFR levels pre-A1 to C2). They are grouped by stages, and offer a progressive framework for development in learning the English language.

Integrated Skills in English (ISE)

Integrated Skills in English (ISE) is a multi-competence exam intended for young people in high school or university, and for teachers or other adults who need proof of a respected level of English.

ISE exam preparation develops real-life language skills as well as skills transferable to academia and employment.

ISE assesses the ability to interact in English in an authentic and relevant way through tasks that integrate the four language skills in two modules:

Speaking and Listening Module

Reading and Writing Module

These modules are evaluated separately and allow the global title to be obtained in phases (the score of one module is saved if the other is not passed or is enrolled later).

ISE is available in 5 levels from A2 to C2 of the CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference): there is a level for each student.

More information / More information (English)

National and international recognition

Our GESE and ISE English exams are externally calibrated against the Common European Framework of Reference by a study led by Lancaster University, a world leader in the field of assessment, a study that lasted 2 years and won several awards.

Trinity is a full member of the Association of Language Testers in Europe (ALTE), the most important international association in the field of language testing together with EALTA (of which Trinity is also a member). Not all ALTE members have the highest grade awarded for their exams, the Q Mark (Q Mark). Trinity does have all its exams validated with the Q Mark (only Cambridge English has the same status). For more information, you can consult the website of The Association of Language Testers in Europe and download its reference table.

All Trinity Integrated Skills in English (ISE) exams are part of the table of certifications accredited by the Conference of Rectors of Spanish Universities (CRUE)

This allows the accreditation of the level of English at the corresponding level through a Trinity certificate for the purposes of Bologna (receive the degree), Master’s, Erasmus, etc.

Trinity also appears in the table of recognized certificates of the Association of Language Centers in Higher Education (ACLES)



    Contact Form

    Make your query in the form and I will answer you as soon as possible.


    (+39) 371 572 2588