CELI (Certificato di Conoscenza della Lingua Italiana)

CELI is a certification of Italian language competence that attests language knowledge and communication competence. The CELI certification is released by University for Foreigners of Perugia through ALTE (Association of Language Testers in Europe).The certification CELI 2 level B1 is required to apply for Italian citizenship – Il CELI 2 attesta la conoscenza della lingua italiana al livello B1 del Quadro Comune Europeo di Riferimento.There are 6 levels of CELI: CELI Impatto (Level A1 of CEFR); CELI 1 (Level A2 of CEFR); CELI 2 (Level B1 of CEFR); CELI 3 (Level B2 of CEFR); CELI 4 (Level C1 of CEFR); CELI 5 (Level C2 of CEFR).

Certificates are granted by CVCL (and are the only Italian linguistic certificates included in ALTE Association of Language Testers in Europe). They are comparable per level with the most important language certificates granted by European institutions belonging to ALTE and comply with the learning objectives specified in the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). CVCL has adhered to the Quality System implemented by ALTE. All CELI certificates (from CELI 1 to CELI 5) possess the Q-Mark, a quality indicator awarded by ALTE once a rigorous audit has been passed.

The CVCL promotes and develops study and research in the field of assessment and evaluation of language skills and competence. Established in 2005 as an autonomous university center, it has consolidated and strengthened a traditional experience in the certification of Italian as a Foreign Language, developed since 1987 by the University for Foreigners of Perugia.

The CELI exam takes place in three annual sessions (spring, summer and autumn), in Italy at the University for Foreigners of Perugia, and abroad in the authorized offices, such as The Italian Cultural Society of Washington DC.

In a nutshell, the Certificates of knowledge of the Italian language (CELI) are certificates of general Italian that are aimed at educated adults.

They certify skills and ability to use the language and can be used in the workplace, immigration and study.


There are 6 levels of the CELI (corresponding to the CEFR levels):

  • CELI – Impact, corresponding to level A1
  • CELI 1 – corresponding to level A2
  • CELI 2 – corresponding to level B1 (valid for applying for Italian citizenship)
  • CELI 3 – corresponding to level B2 (valid for university enrollment in Italy)
  • CELI 4 – corresponding to level C1
  • CELI 5 – corresponding to level C2

The Ministry of Education, University and Research recognizes the CELI 3 as a valid certificate to certify the knowledge of the Italian language necessary to enroll at the University in Italy.

CELI 4 and CELI 5 are recognized as valid certificates to certify knowledge of the Italian language on equal terms with Italian students. Each Faculty can obviously request specific entrance tests.

The Ministry of Labor and Social Policies recognizes the CELI Certificates in immigration contexts and promotes their dissemination through the promotion of interventions aimed at learning the knowledge of the Italian language by non-EU citizens, adults and minors regularly present in Italy. All CELI level B1 exams (Celi Immigrati, CELI standard and CELI Adolescenti) are valid for applying for citizenship.



    Contact Form

    Make your query in the form and I will answer you as soon as possible.


    (+39) 371 572 2588